WASHINGTON, DC – Congressman Dan Crenshaw joined Wyoming Congresswoman and House GOP Conference Chair Liz Cheney (WY-AL) and nearly thirty of their Republican colleagues in the House in introducing legislation to impose sanctions against Turkey in response to Ankara’s military offensive against U.S.-allied Kurdish forces in Northern Syria. This move follows similar efforts led by Sens. Lindsey Graham (R-SC) and Chris Van Hollen (D-MD) in the Senate.

"These sanctions are a direct result of the Administration’s grave mistake of moving American forces out of Northern Syria,” said Crenshaw. “Predictably we are seeing the Administration’s decision result in a preventable attack against our Kurdish allies, who have long been our partner in the fight against ISIS and its influence. We must hold Erdogan and his Free Syrian Army proxies accountable for their actions. For the sake of our allies and the homeland, it is imperative we implement these sanctions."

“President Erdogan and his regime must face serious consequences for mercilessly attacking our Kurdish allies in northern Syria, who incurred thousands of casualties in the fight against ISIS and helped us protect the homeland,” said Cheney. “These sanctions are not only a response to the Erdogan regime’s violent attacks in northern Syria. Congress has long had concerns about the regime’s cooperation with U.S. adversaries, such as Russia. If Turkey wants to be treated like an ally, it must begin behaving like one. They must be sanctioned for their attacks on our Kurdish allies."

Original co-sponsors of this legislation will include Republican Leader Kevin McCarthy (CA-23), Republican Whip Steve Scalise (LA-01), HASC Ranking Member Mac Thornberry (TX-13), and Representatives Jodey Arrington (TX-19), Don Bacon (NE-02), Jim Banks (IN-03), Jack Bergman (MI-01), Rick Crawford (AR-01), Mike Gallagher (WI-08), French Hill (AR-02), Will Hurd (TX-23), Richard Hudson (NC-08), Mike Johnson (LA-04), Adam Kinzinger (IL-16), Paul Mitchell (MI-10), John Ratcliffe (TX-04), Guy Reschenthaler (PA-14), Martha Roby (AL-02), Mike Rogers (AL-03), Denver Riggleman (VA-05), Elise Stefanik (NY-21), Mike Turner (OH-10), Mark Walker (NC-06), Michael Waltz (FL-06), Brad Wenstrup (OH-02), Joe Wilson (SC-02) and Steve Womack (AR-03).